web analytics

News: Big Sean and Jhene Aiko Explain their ‘Twenty88’ Project

Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 3.39.33 PM

Big Sean and Jhene Aiko announced a joint collaborative album Twenty88 which is sue out tomorrow. They spoke with Flaunt Magazine to talk about the new LP and more. Take a look at some of what they had to say below and read the full article over at Flaunt. You can also view the tracklisting for Twenty88 below.

“Music now doesn’t really cater to the feelings of a real relationship,” says Aiko via Skype from New Zealand where she’s on tour. “It’s all about trapping and bragging. I feel like this project is something that’s needed right now.” Sean nods—he currently sits on a couch in his living room in Hollywood Hills. “The whole idea of the man and woman duet” Aiko continues, “Especially a whole project, is just good for people to see. That duality is a perfect combination.”

Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 3.40.06 PM

“It was just very comfortable,” Aiko notes, “I think secretly there’s a little competition—I want my verse to sound better than his, and he wants his to sound better than mine. “We’ve created another world,” she adds, “Both me and Sean are super into fantasy-driven movies and so combining stuff like robots and sex, that pretty much sums us up.” Sean seconds this: “Robots are sexy as shit,” he says. “We’ve created these characters that are extensions of ourselves,” Aiko continues, “it’s highly sexual.” Given the advent of text-to-toy capabilities, the future of romance and sexuality is only getting more robotic (and more inventive).

Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 3.40.18 PM

Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 3.40.58 PM

Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 3.41.08 PM

Big Sean & Jhene Aiko – Twenty88

1. Déjà Vu
2. Selfish
3. On The Way
4. Push It
5. 2 Minute Warning f. K-Ci & Jojo & Detail
6. Talk Show
7. Memories Faded
8. London Bridge